Disillusioned Discordian


Durham Folk Party
August 2, 2007, 2:28 pm
Filed under: Morris

Well last weekend saw my first attendance of the Durham Folk Party. The weather was fine and the dancers were out in force. The Morris dancing took place in the Market square on the Saturday, and much of the side were nursing their heads from the night before. I emerged from my tent to discover I was already getting a name for myself as a drinker in the side. So needless to say I wasn’t excluded from the mutual hangover. Nevertheless after a few swigs from the hip flask I was ready to dance.

The highlight of the dancing was an accumulation of aggressive sticking in a dance called Twiglet which lead to the breaking of my first stick. Although I was slightly disappointed that I didn’t manage to hit any members of the audience as segments of wood flew into the on looking crowd.  The day was rounded off by a continuation of ale drinking, a trip around Waitrose in full kit and a rather successful BBQ. Back on the campsite the merriment continued as spontaneous singing and dancing broke out in the bar. All in all a very successful foray into the world of Morris. I have decided however that my hat is not nearly gothic enough and I’m currently hunting out a crow’s skull to sit upon my top hat. If any reader happens to chance upon one of these then can you please get in touch.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

