Disillusioned Discordian


Being Idle
June 11, 2007, 2:34 pm
Filed under: Idle Ways

The ethos of being Idle is one that is very close to my heart and for a sustained period I have been involved in some kind of physic struggle against my inherent laziness. I felt I was doing fairly reasonable, despite a few online work avoidance strategies mainly focused around blogging and posting on forums. Now however I have stumbled across How to be Idle by Tom Hodgkins.  Tom’s book may not be as high brow as the thinkers such as Weber, Aristotle, Wordsworth from which the main premise is spun but it re-casts their ideas into the expressive catch-all term of the ‘Idler’. I like thinking of things in this dichotomy of Idler Vs Worker.   

 Reading this book was quite a cathartic experience as I realized that I shouldn’t try and shun and repress my intrinsically idle ways.  Instead I need to develop an effective escape route out of the wage slavery that I have ended up trapped within. A distancing from consumer capitalism and the reification of society is I feel in order. Already I feel more pleased, knowing that my energies are focused on reducing the amount of work I have to partake in. Put simply the reason I’m Disillusioned is that I have made to live in a silly society that encourages working lots and buying things in order to relive the misery induced by working.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

